Photoblog: The world, one image at a time.

when life gives you lemons…

Lemons

Ah, yes.  My first foray into the wide world of still life!  These were the lemons that I purchased at the Philadelphia Italian Market…10 Meyer lemons (the really yummy kind) the size of grapefruits (no joke…I have a photo to prove it) for $2.  Yes, you read that right.  10 for 2!  So, I used the lemon rinds to make some homemade limoncello.  If you are interested in trying to make the stuff, just check out Michael Chiarello’s recipe on FoodNetwork.  Its much simpler than most online…perfect for someone who has never made liqueurs before.  So, the limoncello left me with 10 naked lemons.  As mother always said, “when life gives you NAKED lemons, make lemonade.”  I did just that…with the whopping 3 cups of juice I got from these gargantuan lemons.

Now down to business.  I plopped the lemons into a lovely large blue bowl that I have, hung my afghan over a bookshelf, placed the subject on my ottoman, and went shutter-happy.  I know…I’m working with such high-quality props, right?  I used my amazing Canon G7 to capture the lemons and did a smidge of post-processing in Photoshop (namely a “bleached” effect).  So, pucker up and enjoy some lemons!

2 responses

  1. You know…its not too late to become a professional photographer. The world is full of doctors but we do not have enough artists with the lens.

    May 6, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    • bellaitaliana

      Gosh! I am very flattered by your comment! I was slightly blessed…and cursed…to have two big passions. I always want to spend time doing both! Medicine does ultimately win out for me (can’t see myself doing anything but emergency medicine three years from now), but photography gives me such a wonderful reprieve from the high-stress world of med school, studying, and trying to become the physician I’ve always wanted to be. And I love the notion of being able to heal people physically with my skills and knowledge while healing the souls of many others (or at least putting pretty thoughts and pictures in their heads) through my photos!

      But, Dr. Photographer has a rather nice ring to it, no?

      May 6, 2009 at 6:30 pm

Leave a Reply

