Photoblog: The world, one image at a time.

glutamine, shmutamine…

Glutamine Crystals

Its been a while since I put up a hardcore nerd photo.  And, well, there’s no time like the present!  I made a solution (at my old lab, of course) of the amino acid glutamine.  When a drop of the solution is placed on a microscope slide and allowed to dry out, crystals of glutamine form.  I tossed those puppies under the microscope (Olympus BX51) and took a picture at 10x.  Gotta love the ice-like quality of the crystals and the rainbow refractions!

Gosh, I sure do miss the good ol’ lab days sometimes!  I was always able to do the most unique microscopic photography there!!!

5 responses

  1. It is an amazing world. This is incredible!

    June 25, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    • It truly is an amazing world…especially when you view it from the microscopic point of view!! I think its simply amazing to think that the amino acids in this picture are a part of nearly every proteinaceous component in you and me!! Its like a little glimpse at our molecules.

      June 25, 2009 at 6:02 pm

  2. It reminds me of tinsel, of Christmases long past that are remembered from the smallest of hints.

    June 26, 2009 at 9:21 am

  3. Pingback: check it out… « Elizabeth Iannone Photography

Leave a Reply

