Photoblog: The world, one image at a time.

New York City: Part 2

Times Square Panorama

Second photo in the series!  I decided to have a little fun with this one.  I wanted to take a panoramic shot encompassing all of times square.  Thing is, the only thing tall enough to see over the heads of most people (tripod didn’t quite cut it) was Jay (the boyfriend).  So, I kindly asked him to stand super-still in the middle of times square while I put my camera on his head and carefully rotated around, snapping shots.  12 photos and many strange looks later (oh, what one will do in the name of photography!) I had my prize.  I stitched the photos together with the G7’s provided computer software when I returned to Philly…only to find that my rotating was not quite as good as a tripod’s, hence the funky curve in the image.  But, with the magic of Photoshop, a funky curve can be transformed into a “bowl” of sorts for a funky title.  So, this picture isn’t pure photography, but I think its fun nonetheless!

As usual, taken with the Canon Powershot G7.  As not-usual (unusual?), taken with the help of  Jay’s noggin (I always knew that head was good for more than just pharmacy and remembering anniversaries!)

2 responses

  1. Shaun Tomaszewski

    Hey Liz,

    Hope all is well 🙂

    You can stitch photos together using the photomerge automation in photoshop.
    in CS4, you just do file/automate/photomerge.

    Distortion is automatically removed.

    I dunno, though… I deff like the smiley face effect 🙂

    July 28, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    • Hey Shaun! All is well! Only only have CS3…can I do the photomerge thing in there?

      Good to hear from you! And I’m glad you like the smiley face effect 🙂

      July 28, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Leave a Reply

