Photoblog: The world, one image at a time.

from my point of view…

Ocean Coral and Turquesa Pool

Okay, folks!  I know you have been waiting with bated breath, but alas!  The wait is over!  Here is one of my photos from my trip to Puerto Morelos, Mexico.  It is a small, sleepy fishing village nestled on the Mayan Riviera coast of the Yucatan Peninsula between Cancun and Playa del Carmen.  It hasn’t been overrun or completely adulterated by tourists yet and retains its cultural charm.  It sure made for one amazing trip to Mexico!

The hotel my family and I stayed at was the Ocean Coral and Turquesa Resort…basically a small slice of heaven on the shore.  This picture was the result of me enjoying being both sneaky and creative while taking pictures on my last day.  It really is fun taking snapshots from angles and places that you don’t necessarily notice at first.  I can tell you that I only saw the “pool view” through this tiny arch on my last day…after 7 days of countless trips past it!   This was taken shortly after sunrise (hence the perfect lighting and strange lack of pool-goers).  I just love the yellow of the wall contrasted against the blue water and hotel (& reflection).  More sunrise photos and Mexico photos to come!  And, obviously, taken with the G7!

And feel free to ask any questions you may have about Puerto Morelos (or Playa del Carmen or Isla Mujeres, for that matter)…I’d be more than happy to answer them (especially if you think you want to visit yourself!).

10 responses

  1. elliotaughenbaugh

    It’s great. I love the composition, and the bold color of the arch just sweetens the deal.

    August 19, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    • Thanks! I loved that bold yellow, too! A lovely cross between butter, lemon, and Mexican sun.

      August 19, 2009 at 9:50 pm

  2. great photograph…amazing

    August 20, 2009 at 3:05 am

  3. Lovey colors! wonderful!

    August 20, 2009 at 11:30 am

  4. Excellent shot. So vivid.

    August 22, 2009 at 12:29 pm

  5. my goodness, your photos here are beautiful. i’m a g9 user… i need to use some features. i just point, shoot and post. did you use some on-line instruction or are you just good at figuring it out? *smiles* i’ll be back often!!

    October 8, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    • Hi there! I more or less just figured the G7 out on my own. I did use a few websites to help me with more advanced settings, such as exposure bracketing for HDR, but it was so much easier to just experiment 🙂

      Thanks for visiting!!! Your photos are stunning as well! Definitely adding you to my blogroll!

      October 25, 2009 at 9:15 pm

Leave a Reply

