Photoblog: The world, one image at a time.

mermaid…

Mermaid Model

Well, here’s a change of pace.  I usually photograph things, places, and my cats…but….omigosh!  Its a person!!!  My sister and I were having a bit of fun in Playa del Carmen, Mexico a couple of years ago by staging a teensy “America’s Next Top Model”-esque photo shoot out in the water.  Naturally, she looked gorgeous.  And she’s ready for her close-up now…or at least to have her photo on my blog!  You go, pretty sister!

Taken with an Olympus Stylus 820.  The photo was played with a bit in Adobe Photoshop CS3 to add a glow, fix contrast, and create a sepia tone.  It was then converted into an HDR photo.  Enjoy!!!!

6 responses

  1. Now the phrase ‘Beautiful’ comes right.
    I like the way you caught the light in the breaking wave. -And the look of your sister, naturally 😉
    Take care that the water doesn’t run out of the Mexican Gulf.
    Well done Elizabeth!

    November 4, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    • Thank you so much!!! And I will certainly pass the compliment along to her!!

      November 8, 2009 at 1:46 am

  2. She is a beautiful model. I have heard that landscapes are the ultimate challenge but for me it is the human body and face. As Carsten points out, the splash of water creates something of a tension contrasting beautifully with your sister’s pose. The photo draws you in, allowing you to become aware of more of the subtleties within the photo. Beautifully processed, too. Post more.

    November 5, 2009 at 9:42 am

    • Again, I’ll make sure she gets the compliment 🙂 People really are difficult to photograph. It is quite a task to capture features, spirit, and emotion on a flat piece of film. Unless something of the person is embodied in the photo, it is an empty picture.

      I’d love to post more of that particular “photo shoot”, but…and this is no joke…the next pictures are of her washing off the rock as a large wave came. Quite hilarious.

      That said, I’m working on improving my photography to get more of that exact feeling of being drawn in. I’m trying to capture more of the mood and atmosphere surrounding a subject, rather than merely the subject itself. Keeping my fingers crossed that I can accomplish that goal!

      November 8, 2009 at 1:50 am

  3. Sorta reminds me of the feeling from the movie From Here to Eternity.

    November 5, 2009 at 9:46 am

Leave a Reply

