Photoblog: The world, one image at a time.

strolling down the street…

The next installment in my series on people!  I visited the Kensington Kinetic Sculpture Derby in the Kensington neighborhood of Philadelphia this past spring and was taken for quite a wild ride!  The sculptures were absolutely crazy and the whole derby had a cool bohemian vibe to it.  Luckily, I brought my camera!  Granted, I brought it so that I could better show my mom exactly what this “thing” was, but I got some cool shots as well.  As the crowd was beginning to line up at the finish line, I noticed this little curly-haired girl enjoying a solitary stroll down the street with her balloon and little stuffed puppy.  Fortunately, she wasn’t walking down the lane for too long, as that was the exact street that served as the final leg of the derby.

Of course, this photo was taken with the Canon Powershot G7!  🙂  I used Adobe Photoshop CS3 to remove the company logo that was splashed across the balloon (it was so distracting!).  I also enhanced the contrast and lighting in the photo for a slightly more dramatic “solitary” feel.  Enjoy!  Stay tuned for more in my “People Series”!

2 responses

  1. Its a cool photo. I think the tone you selected also helps create this feeling of not only isolation but childlike whimsy.

    December 4, 2009 at 8:49 am

  2. I completely agree…it did get a slightly whimsical feel to it! I think I need to post photos and have you write up the comment…you are articulating what the artist is trying to say better than the artist herself!

    December 9, 2009 at 5:30 pm

Leave a Reply

