Photoblog: The world, one image at a time.

happy holidays…

–Click images for larger versions–

Well, it may be a bit after the holidays, but I completely forgot to post this in a more timely manner!!

A few weeks ago, I got an email from my PI at my old lab that I worked at in undergrad saying that one of the images I took on the scanning electron microscope (SEM) was being used for one of the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center’s (UPMC) holiday cards!  Obviously, I was floored!  So, here it is:  the holiday card featuring my SEM image of “Dog Vomit Mold.”  No joke.  That’s the name of it.  Scientific name:  Fuligo septica.  I scraped it off the mulch in front of my brother’s house years ago, processed it for SEM, and took pictures!  Mmmmm….nothing says happy holidays quite like dog vomit mold.  At least the image is colored blue so they sort of look like snowflakes!

Hope everyone is starting 2011 on the right foot!  Happy New Year!

P.S.  Stay tuned for a few more relics from my undergrad research days…and more photography!

Leave a Reply

