Photoblog: The world, one image at a time.

lonely tree…

So this photo was taken in Canaan, West Virginia during a horseback ride through the mountains.  Jay and I planned a lovely day of horseback riding followed by waterfall hunting and hiking in Blackwater Falls State Park.  The ride was lovely–it was a cool day, but the sun was warm on our backs as our trusty steeds followed along on well-worn trails in the mountains and meadows.  As I was riding, I saw this tree all by itself and knew I just had to take a photo…even if I was on a moving horse.  I one-handedly wrangled my camera out of the saddle-bag, pointed, and shot…and fortunately was able to get a nice photo, stay on the horse, and have the horse stay on the trail.  Hooray for multitasking!

Anyhoo, when I looked at the photo later on, I decided that it was just entirely too brown…leafless tree with a backdrop of brown grass and brown mountains.  So, I changed the photo to black and white and hand-colorized it in Photoshop CS5.  I added in a vignette blur and desaturated the tree by hand to really make it pop.  All in all, after spending entirely too much time fiddling with a photo, I’m pretty happy with the results.  It still has that slightly cool, forlorn feel of approaching winter, but a little added interest.

Taken with the Canon Powershot G12!!  :o)  Stay tuned for more West Virginia trip photos!

Leave a Reply

