Photoblog: The world, one image at a time.

If you’re going to San Francisco…

The view from the Golden Gate Bridge

Well, world…I finally did it!  I crossed the USA to the other coast!!!  Think of it as East meets West…coast, that is.  My friend from med school was getting married in Santa Rosa (shout-out to the happy couple!), so Jay and I figured, heck, if we’re going that far away, we might as well make a vacation out of it!!!  Thus ensued a week of fun in the sun!

Our amazing itinerary was as follows:

Land in San Francisco (got to see the Rockies & Yosemite from the plane!)–> eat lunch in Sausalito–> drive up the Pacific Coast Highway (Highway 1) to Santa Rosa–> Wedding!–>Trek to Sonoma Lake in Napa Valley plus some wine tasting in the Napa Valley 🙂 –>Drive to San Francisco–> Sight-see!!!  Take Photos!!!  Quality BF-GF time!!!–> Drive to Pillar Point Beach to collect sea glass–> Drive south on Hwy 1 to Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park in Big Sur (stay tuned for the amazing views from here)–>  Continue on Hwy 1 until encounter massive landslide–> take 4 hour detour through a military base at the top of a mountain range (via a one lane road clinging to the edge of the mountain…without a guardrail)–> finally arrive in Long Beach, CA and stay on the Queen Mary for the night (!)–>Ferry to Avalon, Catalina Island!!–> ZIPLINE 500 feet above ground between mountain summits (!)–> beach–>  LAX–> Home (got to see the Grand Canyon from the plane!)

Soooooo much fun!!  I’ll try to post photos in the approximate order that I took them so I can slowly tell the story of my travels 🙂  This one is out of order, though, as I will be posting a photo of the Rockies (so excited to finally see real “rocky” mountains, not the worn (but pretty) tree-covered mountains of the East).

Can’t wait to share my trip and photos with you!  I truly believe it is impossible to take a bad photo in California!

Quick story behind this photo:  En route to Sausalito, I realized that we were driving across the Golden Gate Bridge.  After many squeals of excitement that may have left Jay partially deaf in the right ear, I started snapping photos like a mad woman.  Luckily I got a nice skyline shot.  The Bay Bridge is at the left-most edge of the photo.  Naturally, there was a ton of fog in the Bay, so I adjusted the contrast in Photoshop CS5 to sharpen up the photo.  Taken with the Canon Powershot G12!

ENJOY AND STAY TUNED!!!!

Leave a Reply

