Photoblog: The world, one image at a time.

onward, northward…

So, after leaving sunny Sausalito and a lovely lunch behind, we hopped in our Prius and took the Pacific Coast Highway (Highway 1) all the way up to Santa Rosa.  Let me just say, this was one of the best things I have EVER done.  The winding road (very, very, very sharply winding road) clinging to the cliffside, wind in my hair, great music blasting on the radio…what more could a girl ask for?  A cute guy in the driver’s seat?  Check!  Suffice it to say that around nearly every curve I would squeak with joy and say how gorgeous the view was!  Fortunately, Jay was quite amenable to stopping as soon as I would yell, “I have to take a picture!”…how lucky am I?  So, there are lots and lots of photographs heading north on the PCH (and later, lots and lots of photos going south on the PCH).  So many wonderful memories created in that 4 hour drive!

This portion of the trip checked several things off of my bucket list:  drive Highway 1, see the Pacific, dip toes in the Pacific, and take in a rocky coastline.

This photo was taken somewhere between San Fran and Santa Rosa…and is of the aptly named “Hole Rock.”  Beautiful, eh?  I would just like to mention how insanely windy it was from atop that cliff and that this was one of the few shots that was not blurred by a blowing camera!  Of course, taken with the Canon Powershot G12.

Stay tuned for more snapshots from my California escapades!

4 responses

  1. It is a beautiful stretch of coast between SF and Santa Rosa. If you ever get the chance to revisit it, you should try kayaking on Tomales Bay with your camera. One of the best places ever for kayak photography. Happy shooting.

    September 17, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    • I certainly hope to revisit the area! I completely fell in love with it. And I’ll definitely keep the kayak photography tip in mind. Thanks for checking out my photoblog!

      September 25, 2011 at 1:48 am

  2. If I were to take this drive again, it would be in a MINI convertible (not a prius fan). I would also be driving since the last time I did it, I was about 10. This is some of the most stunning scenery in the world.

    September 28, 2011 at 8:24 am

  3. Agree with the convertible! We actually had a Corvette convertible booked until we realized a week before our travels that our two small travel suitcases would not fit in the trunk OR car (and lets face it, 3 different climates in 1 week does not happen on less than a small suitcase). Thus, the Corvette was reluctantly (and with much lamenting on my part) traded in for a Prius. On the upside, we saved a lot of money on gas.

    It truly was some of the most stunning scenery I have EVER seen…can’t wait to drive the 1 again!

    October 1, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Leave a Reply

