Photoblog: The world, one image at a time.

we interrupt your regularly scheduled programming…

We interrupt your regularly scheduled programming…for a quick trip from the West Coast over to the East Coast.  West Virginia, to be exact.  “Wild and Wonderful,” as they say.  So, I realized that I forgot to post a couple of photos from my Blackwater Falls State Park last year (and I can’t believe this photo is one of them, as it’s one of my favorite photos!).  So, ladies and gents, here you have it:  a snap-shot of the Upper Elakala Falls.  Absolutely beautiful location.  You walk across the falls on the bridge in the picture, then follow the trail.  If you’re daring like Jay and I, you then off-road yourselves and climb down the slippery dirt and wet rocks to get to a place closer to the falls to take a picture and then prop up your tripod with rocks, jam one of the legs deep in the soil, and use the camera timer so as not to disturb the shot but then slip and fall as you back away from the camera too quickly (again, so as not to disturb the shot).  🙂  I used a wide-open shutter and neutral density filter to get this one.  It was crazy-tricky, as the sun was just starting to fade for the day and it was hard to find a balance between the shutter time and the use of the filter.  But…I got it!   Taken with the Canon Powershot G12 with the built-in neutral density filter.  Specs (just because it took so stinkin’ long to get them right!):  f/5.6, exposure 10secs, ISO 80.   Enjoy!  I do believe I have one or two more from WV, but stay tuned to find out if they get posted next or if we jet back to the California coast!

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!

4 responses

  1. I love the long exposure. Great shot!

    December 19, 2011 at 12:07 am

    • Thanks so much! It was a lot of fun to experiment with the exposure! 🙂

      December 19, 2011 at 12:54 am

  2. Great picture. I love the look of the water.

    January 26, 2012 at 9:44 pm

Leave a Reply

