Photoblog: The world, one image at a time.

the rock…

Alcatraz, in Black and White.  Captures the haunting aspect of the island prison.

Alcatraz, in color.  With a seagull!

Alrighty, folks.  If you don’t like this post, I’m going to be forced to send you to Alcatraz and throw away the key!  Just kidding, just kidding.  These photos are pretty self-explanatory.  I unfortunately did not get a chance to visit the prison in my 2-day stay (although I did manage to visit In-n-Out Burger twice…priorities, my friends.  “Animal Style” burger and fries is seriously like crack.  Crack that you can’t get on the East Coast).  But, hey!  I have to leave something to do on my return trip (hmmm…lunch at In-n-Out on the way to Alcatraz?  The burger joint is close to from where the tours leave!)

So, which of these photos do you prefer?  I think I’m leaning towards the black and white version…kind of a throwback to when the prison was in use and accentuates the eeriness of the place.  And if you’re thinking that the photo was taken with the tilt-shift technique…it wasn’t!  I know, it looks like it was, but its just a plain ol’ shot from Pier 39 across the bay.  Guess I lucked out for the bonus effect.  As for the color image, c’mon…that seagull could not have been in a better spot if I could have glued him to the sky!  🙂

So, please vote in my little poll:

Oh!  I almost forgot to state the obvious:  all photos taken with the Canon Powershot G12.  Forget that newfangled G1X that just came out…I love my G12 (and my lenses/underwater housing won’t fit the new version…a very expensive reason to stick with the G12!).  Stay tuned for more of California!

And yes, I mentioned an underwater housing for the G12.  A gracious Christmas present from my family for use in my upcoming trip to St. John, USVI!!!  Eeeeeek!!!!  SO EXCITED!!!!  Can’t wait to share those photos…but first, I need to get there 😉

2 responses

  1. I was in SF recently and so disappointed we could not go to Alcatraz! We left it too late to book, lesson learned.

    April 26, 2012 at 4:52 pm

Leave a Reply

