Photoblog: The world, one image at a time.

free fallin’

“And I’m free, free fallin’

Yeah I’m free, free fallin’.”

~Tom Petty

Well, I may not be free fallin’, but the water sure is!  This is Swallow Falls at Swallow Falls Canyon in Garrett County, Maryland.  Lovely, isn’t it?  53 feet of crashing, rushing water and the best part is that there are small stones at the top that you can walk along and peer over the edge of the falls, as the water rushes around you (WARNING;  these rocks are wet and this is obviously not the *safest* thing to do, but if you’re adventurous with a solid pair of shoes and a lack of a fear of heights, GO FOR IT!)

The view can be seen below.  I can hear my mom’s voice in my head as I’m posting this photo…”WHY?!?!?  You could have fallen to your DEATH!!!!”   🙂  Love you Mom!!  Thanks for putting me on this earth so I can go do crazy stuff like this!!!!  🙂

Apparently 22 years of schooling and seeing the aftermath of sheer stupidity daily in the ER has taught me nothing.

Anyhoo, the main photo was taken with the Canon Powershot G12.  I used f/5.6, 1/5sec exposure with exposure bias of -1, ISO 80 and a neutral density filter to get the perfect combo of flowing water and non-overexposure.  Stay tuned for a few more Swallow Falls Canyon photos!

2 responses

  1. Wonderful photo of the waterfall! I love the way the water appears in the image.

    August 26, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    • Thanks! I love leaving the shutter open around waterfalls!

      August 28, 2013 at 5:08 pm

Leave a Reply

